October 18, Last chance to vote.

September 25, 2010 at 4:41 am | Posted in edmonton, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I am Dave Dowling and I am a Candidate for Mayor of Edmonton. On my website, votedavedowling.wordpress.com I have some good excellent solutions for poverty and the environment and other issues I Dave Dowling consider important. But the media appears to have you all trained to focus on the Airport issue. So, I Dave Dowling am going to start with the Airport issue. I Dave Dowling have no idea why council voted to have no airport. . . Leduc does excellent with their airport. . . It looks as if the media has everyone believing there is only 2 options. Keep the downtown airport, which I mostly support , redevelop the downtown airport in a money grab. There is a third option. The Dave Dowling option. Build a new airport. Slowly turn ours into a large park to commemorate  all the history there, and to respect the environment with less urban sprawl. I Dave Dowling know this is a plan that respects all sides of the issue and more as it should.  And it is something that is in the best interests of all of
Edmonton and indeed Alberta and Canada and beyond.

Fiscal responsibility is what I Dave Dowling have now been talking about for 3 civic elections. I Dave Dowling suppose, because you are busy with other things in life,  the hundreds of thousands of dollars of glossy adds in the various media with all the bells and whistles are more interesting for all of you. I Dave Dowling have proposed always that core services should come first, then issues like poverty, the environment and after all that , then the white elephant legacy projects. This is why my 10 billion dollar vision page has the federal and province governments helping out if you do not like clean waters, good air quality, good schools and libraries and stuff like that.

I Dave Dowling believe  anything over a certain amount of money that is non-core services, or a city owned item over a certain amount been sold should be put to a vote, with clear questions. This would possibly help eliminate waste, and the selling off of prime city owned assets, and give you more voting power not less.

For less voting power seams to be what some want all to have, instead of more voting power, like I , Dave Dowling have always proposed. I Dave Dowling have proposed internet voting before. I Dave Dowling have constantly said that we need more democratic reform in all directions. Polls open longer, at better locations, and even an image of the candidate on the ballot. Better candidate financing laws, with more realistic donation levels and spending levels. Equal media access for candidates, with notice if it is a paid add, is some of the democratic reform I Dave Dowling believe in. For the elected are there to serve you the people.

Free bus passes, help for fixed income people, help with housing, less taxes  are all things I Dave Dowling have constantly proposed, and it is good to see other candidates having similar proposals in their platforms.  Hard work can pay off, even if one is not elected. Nor does one need hundreds of thousands of dollars. All one needs is the skills of a leader ready to serve. Which include working with a majority of 12 other councilors to do anything for the you the people.

That is why you are here. It is election time where we get  to elect school board trustees, councilors and one Mayor. I Dave Dowling am 50 years old and ready to be your Mayor Edmonton.

I Dave Dowling have been  enviro-vision campaigning, like a leader by not asking for monetary donations, nor killing the environment with elections signs that end up in landfills  Like a leader, I, Dave Dowling am using a web blog as a campaign headquarters thereby respecting the environment. I, Dave Dowling know my Ten billion dollar vision is an excellent source of enviro-vision leadership that all of Edmonton would benefit from. I, Dave Dowling also know that poverty and cores services are always pressing issues and constantly need government attention from all levels of governments like leaders should know. I, Dave Dowling know information is important, so there is lots of it at my web site, and it has been there for a while, like a leader standing up for election should have. Edmonton and the rest of the world needs change for the better, pollution, poverty, loss of natural environment, and other pressing issues all need people like me Dave Dowling who understand and can work with others to help solve issues like leaders should. October 18 is the last chance to vote for 3 more long years.

 I, Dave Dowling also know to lead is to serve all the people, not just those that voted for them. For a public servant you know you can trust, Elect Mayor Dowling, Monday October 18

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

